Author |
Page 1 |
Panda-Ball
Joined 13/10/06 Last Visit 22/12/11 46 Posts
|
Posted on 17 February 2010 at 14:42:45 GMT In a recent game I had 5 Panther facing a force of 7 T34/76. The way I have read the rules and have been playing, is if I give an order to a group of units to fire at the enemy the enemy can opportunity fire back if not destroyed or suppressed. So with my example I ordered the Panthers to fire 3 panthers fired at a T34 destroying it the other 6xT34 then fired back before my next 2 Panthers fired. Could I have declared all 5 Panthers firing at different targets hoping to supress all of them so only 2 T34 could fire back. The way I read the rules as soon as the 1st one fires the T34's can fire back at him. Tactically it changes the way you fight at the moment I tend to concentrate all fire on one target destroying it then the enemy fires back destroying one of mine, then if get second order hit another target and so on. But if I do all my firing before the enemy gets to opp fire, I am more likely to spread my shots over several targets hoping to suppress and then kill with a second order. How do other players play this? |
nosher
Joined 24/06/06 Last Visit 06/02/17 363 Posts
|
Posted on 17 February 2010 at 16:16:14 GMT If you ordered all five panthers to fire as one 'group of units' (regardless of their targets) then the T34's could only return fire AFTER all 5 panthers had fired. |
Panda-Ball
Joined 13/10/06 Last Visit 22/12/11 46 Posts
|
Posted on 17 February 2010 at 18:57:11 GMT Is that correct the way the rules seems to say if one fires/moves the T34's can fire before the others fire or move at different targets. I prefer what you are saying |
pete
Joined 05/02/04 Last Visit 07/05/19 3793 Posts
|
Posted on 17 February 2010 at 19:10:28 GMT It's on a unit by unit basis, otherwise you will need to start moving units back to where the opp fire took place if it's in response to movement - this can happen if units move in and out of LoS as part of a move action. Doing it this way allows both players to choose to concentrate their fire or to spread it out amongst the opposing units. |
nosher
Joined 24/06/06 Last Visit 06/02/17 363 Posts
|
Posted on 17 February 2010 at 19:55:59 GMT Shit U mean I have been playing it wrong for four years... |
stu_dew
Joined 26/03/08 Last Visit 08/05/12 170 Posts
|
Posted on 17 February 2010 at 20:49:47 GMT "...I have been playing it wrong..." Ditto. |
pete
Joined 05/02/04 Last Visit 07/05/19 3793 Posts
|
Posted on 17 February 2010 at 22:14:25 GMT It doesn't matter, guys - I've probably done the same |
Panzer-Kalle
Joined 16/07/05 Last Visit 12/02/21 466 Posts
|
Posted on 17 February 2010 at 22:27:38 GMT I play it this way: When giving a fire order the commander says: "Feuer frei!" and when the 5 panthers would open fire at the same time at some targets. After that the surving enemy units could return fire. When giving a move order the commander would say: "Panzer marsch!" and when I move one panther after the other and opponent could say: "Stop I want to shoot at this tank!" Cheers Kalle |
TonyO_AU
Joined 18/02/10 Last Visit 27/08/10 49 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 05:28:18 GMT I have just bought BKC and FWC (both look great). How many times can a unit opportunity fire in the command phase - once in the phase or once each time an enemy unit moves/fires within LOS? The rule say "once at an enemy unit that ..." |
cbaxter
Joined 25/09/08 Last Visit 24/03/12 62 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 06:39:54 GMT The way i figure if you play it right as a panzer commander the 7 t-34's should not get the chance to oppertunity fire at you because your 5 panthers would destroy all 7 t34s in one single round of shooting. |
sunjester
Joined 07/01/09 Last Visit 22/02/17 99 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 09:10:00 GMT We have always played it as Panzer-Kalle says (as have a lot of people it would appear!). That certainly seems to make more sense. Otherwise on the order to fire, 3 Panthers fire, the other 2 have their shells pause half-way down the barrel to wait and see if the Russians get to hit them! Graham |
stu_dew
Joined 26/03/08 Last Visit 08/05/12 170 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 09:13:54 GMT Hi Tony - welcome to the forum. Each of your units may perform opportunity fire once in your opponent's command phase (as per this thread: http://www.coldwar-commander.com/Content/Forum/.... |
pete
Joined 05/02/04 Last Visit 07/05/19 3793 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 10:07:42 GMT I remember now, the active player does fire with all his units before any opp fire - it's only movement that you have to be careful with |
nosher
Joined 24/06/06 Last Visit 06/02/17 363 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 10:52:25 GMT Phew, that's a relief |
TonyO_AU
Joined 18/02/10 Last Visit 27/08/10 49 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 11:39:11 GMT Thanks stu_dew - I thought that would be the case otherwise defenders would be rather strong. I didn't think to read the other forums for rule interpretations but I will from now on. We will be playing FWC on Friday night so I might be posting on its forum Saturday |
johnboy
Joined 17/10/08 Last Visit 11/03/15 332 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 12:49:42 GMT Pete said "I remember now, the active player does fire with all his units before any opp fire - it's only movement that you have to be careful with". So even the guy who's written the rules gets them wrong sometimes! As an old maths teacher once told me many, many years ago - "We all make mistakes - that's why they put rubbers on the tops of pencils!" Cbaxter said "The way i figure if you play it right as a panzer commander the 7 t-34's should not get the chance to oppertunity fire at you because your 5 panthers would destroy all 7 t34s in one single round of shooting." You haven't seen my dice rolls lately! |
Panzer-Kalle
Joined 16/07/05 Last Visit 12/02/21 466 Posts
|
Posted on 18 February 2010 at 13:01:17 GMT The problem is how could 5 Panthers fire at 7 T-34 in one phase? Do you split the attacks of one vehicle between 2 targets? If I remember wright this is not allowed! So did Pete say some time ago.... |
pete
Joined 05/02/04 Last Visit 07/05/19 3793 Posts
|
Posted on 19 February 2010 at 01:39:25 GMT No, that is not allowed! |
cbaxter
Joined 25/09/08 Last Visit 24/03/12 62 Posts
|
Posted on 19 February 2010 at 08:55:08 GMT i was joking about taking out 7 t34 with 5 panthers in one phase |
cbaxter
Joined 25/09/08 Last Visit 24/03/12 62 Posts
|
Posted on 19 February 2010 at 08:55:54 GMT you actually only need 3 panthers the other two can kill all the russian infantry. |
Page 1 |