The Commander Series Forum

Forum Home Forum Home
ImageCurrent Forum Category Cold War Commander, 1946+
ImageImageCurrent Forum CWC Rule Queries
ImageImageImageCurrent Topic Close Assault Queries
Post Reply
Post Reply
Author Page 1 
Counterpane
United Kingdom
Joined 26/03/07
Last Visit 16/10/18
130 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 08:12:46 GMT
Having played some close assaults during yesterday's game I have some questions. Let's use the top pic on page 36 of CWC as our starting point. We'll call the Soviet units A, B and C with A closest to the camera and C furthest. Likewise the nearer Afghan unit is X, the other Y.

Q1. Could the Soviet player have given his company composite orders, "A will fire at X, B & C will close assault X"?

Q2. If the answer to Q1 is yes, could A still be counted as a supporting unit?

Q3. If the answer to Q1 is no, where is this stated in the rules?

Q4. Suppose the Soviets had used their previous action to fire at the Afghans and caused a hit each on X and Y. The Afghans then opportunity fired and caused a hit each on A and B. Do these hits count against the totals compared in assessing the outcome?

Q5. Suppose the Soviet attack goes in and they cause no hits but take one hit. Does this count as "double or more"?

Q6. Suppose unit X is a captured T-55. Does it roll armour saves for close assault hits?

Q7. If the answer Q6. is yes, how are the saves modified if the hits are taken partly from the front and partly from the side?

Richard
pete
Wales
Joined 05/02/04
Last Visit 07/05/19
3793 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 08:55:16 GMT
Thanks for all the close assault questions, just what I need for breakfast! StunnedGrin

1. Yes

2. Yes

3. -

4. Yes, it's on Outcome, p.35

5. Yes

6. Yes

7. You would need to test for each unit, so test for the unit on the flank separately to the unit in front.

I think I have all this right, had to consult the rule book myself!
cardophillipo
Sea
Joined 29/01/09
Last Visit 20/01/22
997 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 09:03:49 GMT
My Brain Hurts!!! Wink
cardophillipo
Sea
Joined 29/01/09
Last Visit 20/01/22
997 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 09:04:57 GMT
Somebody has had 3 Shredded Wheat for breakfast Grin
pete
Wales
Joined 05/02/04
Last Visit 07/05/19
3793 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 10:55:57 GMT
Approve
toxicpixie
United Kingdom
Joined 09/03/11
Last Visit 17/07/21
2177 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 11:06:43 GMT
Sorry Pete, but I think 5 is actually a no - the bit under the results in BKCII says "use the greater but not double result" where it's one hit versus zero, and I think you'd said previously that's the intent Wink

Although it's not in the FAQ/errata so I might be wrong!

Nice to have a definitive answer for 6 though Smile
toxicpixie
United Kingdom
Joined 09/03/11
Last Visit 17/07/21
2177 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 12:00:32 GMT
* that's the intent across the other xCommander sets, even!
pete
Wales
Joined 05/02/04
Last Visit 07/05/19
3793 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 12:14:14 GMT
No, keep it to the CWC book, so as you are Wink
toxicpixie
United Kingdom
Joined 09/03/11
Last Visit 17/07/21
2177 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 12:19:03 GMT
Fair enough, I'll make a note of that Smile
sgraham
United Kingdom
Joined 04/09/06
Last Visit 03/09/23
399 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 12:29:13 GMT
Q4. Would these hits count as they are a result of opp fire not the actual assault? Do you mean response fire? We only count the hits taken as a result of the assault its self, all though the response fire may result in a suppression or the unit carrying enough hits that its destroyed as a result of hits taken during the assault. Have we been doing it wrong all these years? Confused
sgraham
United Kingdom
Joined 04/09/06
Last Visit 03/09/23
399 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 12:34:17 GMT
Just bothered to read the assault example on page 36/37 and it would appear your correct Pete, so we have been doing it wrong Sad
pete
Wales
Joined 05/02/04
Last Visit 07/05/19
3793 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 17:20:37 GMT
It's no big deal, I just find that working out which are new hits and which were from previous activities a bit confusing Silly
Counterpane
United Kingdom
Joined 26/03/07
Last Visit 16/10/18
130 Posts
Posted on 22 February 2013 at 21:50:16 GMT
Thanks, Pete.

Much of the terrain for Crisis Point: Arctic Strike will be wooded so I think a fair amount of close quarters fighting is to be expected.

Richard
imcdowall
United Kingdom
Joined 30/12/12
Last Visit 07/04/13
2 Posts
Posted on 09 March 2013 at 09:55:31 GMT
I just wanted to check something. If I have infantry (no armour-killing ability) in Close Assault with armour, can they cause hits?
VonTed
United States
Joined 21/10/08
Last Visit 04/10/15
196 Posts
Posted on 31 July 2013 at 16:41:54 GMT
BUMP!

Infantry should be able to cause "suppression", correct? If so do they only hit on a 6?

And now my question!

Assaulting enemy on the edge of area terrain (woods. Can I do it? Smile i.e. can I command them to assault in one turn (1 command)?

Or do I need to command them to the edge of the terrain, command them to "enter" the terrain, and then command them to assault? (3 commands)
collins355
United Kingdom
Joined 16/08/09
Last Visit 27/08/21
170 Posts
Posted on 31 July 2013 at 21:24:26 GMT
vonTed, this one has been answered before. It is the former, not the latter.
Page 1